Databases

Business And Consumer Information

Access free-of-charge while in the library or at home using your library card number.

Browse them all or select a topic:


Library Use Only. No remote access. Provides Bay Area consumers with information, ratings, and advice regarding local service firms, stores, and providers. Evaluates the quality and prices of area companies and assigns unbiased ratings based on the findings.

Integrates company news, corporate histories and profiles, industry developments, financials, rankings, market share, and associations.

Access academic and business journals for in-depth research on companies, industries, management topics, product development, marketing, economics and finance, forecasts and trends, and labor issues.

Library Use Only. No remote access. Offers unbiased, independent, and expert recommendations on a variety of different consumer products. Includes over 1K ratings, reviews, product comparisons, buying advice, and more.

"Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages." Users can search for articles across all titles or browse journals by subject.

Identifies live, print and electronic sources of information listed under alphabetically arranged subjects--industries and business concepts and practices. Listings are arranged by type of resource (directories, databases, newsletters, indexes, research centers, etc.) within each subject. Many entries also provide e-mail addresses and URLs covering online resources.

Contains information on U.S., Canadian, and international radio and television stations, cable companies, and print media.

Provides extensive company and industry information, including financial reports and key executives. Build focused lists of companies based on parameters such as industry, location, size, financials and performance.

Includes some 13 million US companies and 120 million US households, with information gleaned from telephone directories, annual reports, SEC filings, plus federal, state, and municipal government data.

Includes Standard & Poor's investment research and commentary, with access to following publications: Outlook Industry surveys, Stock and Bond Guide, Stock Reports, Register of Directors and Executives, and Trends & Projections.
REMOTE USERS: Key in Mechanics1 (case sensitive) as user name. Password is 14-digit barcode on card