You are here

Databases

Ancestry Library

News, Newspapers, and Magazines

Library Use Only. No remote access. The library edition of Ancestry.com, one of the most important genealogical collections available today with unparalleled coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom. Search across billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.


Artcyclopedia

Literature and the Arts

The Artcyclopedia is an index of online museums and image archives. Find where the works of over 8000 different fine artists can be viewed online.


Bay Area Consumers’ Checkbook

Consumer Information

Library Use Only. No remote access. Provides Bay Area consumers with information, ratings, and advice regarding local service firms, stores, and providers. Evaluates the quality and prices of area companies and assigns unbiased ratings based on the findings.


Business Insights: Essentials

Business and Finance

Integrates company news, corporate histories and profiles, industry developments, financials, rankings, market share, and associations.


California Digital Newspaper Collection

News, Newspapers, and Magazines

Part of the Library of Congress' Chronicling America Project. Provides free full text access to many of the state's principal historic newspapers.


California State Newspapers & News

News, Newspapers, and Magazines

News content from local, regional, and state sources. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the state on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities, and people.


Consumer Reports

Consumer Information

Offers unbiased, independent, and expert recommendations on a variety of different consumer products. Includes over 1K ratings, reviews, product comparisons, buying advice, and more.


DigitalLearn.org

Technology

Free learning tools to help make technology work for you.


Directory of Open Access Journals

Business and Finance Consumer Information Health Literature and the Arts News, Newspapers, and Magazines

"Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages." Users can search for articles across all titles or browse journals by subject.


eSequels

Literature and the Arts

eSequels is an online guide to series fiction. It indexes character, location and subject as well as author and title so you can identify a series that you may recall only vaguely. eSequels lists the most popular series so you can discover a new author or rediscover an enjoyable series of years past.


Estate Planning: An Easy Introduction to Some Powerful Tools

Business and Finance Consumer Information

View of any of these 10-minute illustrated estate planning briefings videos on wills, living trusts, probate, trustees, charitable trusts, gift annuities, advance health care directives and other powerful estate planning tools vital to you and those you love.


Gale Business Collection

Business and Finance

Formerly known as Business Index ASAP. Access academic and business journals for in-depth research on companies, industries, management topics, product development, marketing, economics and finance, forecasts and trends, and labor issues.


Gale General Reference Center GOLD

News, Newspapers, and Magazines

Database of articles from thousands of periodicals with full-text and images, covering current events, popular culture, arts and sciences, business trends, sports, hobbies and more.


Hoover's

Business and Finance

Provides extensive company and industry information, including financial reports and key executives. Build focused lists of companies based on parameters such as industry, location, size, financials and performance.


Internet Archive

Literature and the Arts Technology

Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies, and music, as well as 435 billion archived web pages.


JSTOR

Literature and the Arts News, Newspapers, and Magazines

Offers a scholary, interdisciplinary, chronological "moving wall" of journals, mostly published over past five to ten years. Comprises over one thousand academic titles in the humanities and social sciences. This resource is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes images, and is interlinked by multiple citations and references.


Mergent Intellect

Business and Finance

Mergent Intellect is a highly flexible website that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.

Quick Tips [PDF]


Morningstar Investment Research Center

Business and Finance

Morningstar is the premier source of unbiased information for thousands of mutual funds, and a respected source of information on stocks.


New York Times

News, Newspapers, and Magazines

National and world news, reviews, and opinion. Limited to 10 full articles per month for articles published within the last 12 months.


Online Archive of California

Literature and the Arts The Online Archive of California (OAC) is a research gateway to unique and historical materials at archives, libraries, and museums throughout California.

Reference USA

Business and Finance Consumer Information

Includes some 24 million US companies and 89 million residents, with information gleaned from telephone directories, annual reports, SEC filings, plus federal, state, and municipal government data. Also includes a module with 2.5 million job postings.


San Francisco Chronicle (January 1, 1985 through present)

News, Newspapers, and Magazines

The current collection, which covers January 1, 1985 through present.


San Francisco Chronicle Historical (August 15, 1869 through December 31, 1984)

News, Newspapers, and Magazines

The historical collection, which covers August 15, 1869 through December 31, 1984.


Stedman's Medical Dictionary

Health

Since 1911, Stedman's Medical Dictionary has been the medical profession's most trusted source for medical definitions. A complete medical terms dictionary, Stedman's Electronic Medical Dictionary contains over 107,000 medical terms taken directly from Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 28th Edition.


ValueLine Resource Center

Business and Finance

ValueLine is one of the most widely-used independent investment information publications. The online version contains information on more than 7,500 publicly traded companies, along with Mutral Fund Survey, Daily Options Survey, and a Special Situations service. Note: ValueLine is not compatible with smartphones and some tablets. It is best used on a desktop computer.