The Mechanics' Institute Library holds an extensive collection of investment newsletter subscriptions, available for our members to peruse in the Library. Most titles can be found in green binders on the shelves towards the north-west corner of the 3rd floor of the Library. Very popular and heavily consulted newsletters are shelved behind the 3rd floor Circulation Desk, and are checked out to read in the Library.
The Chartist (every three weeks)
- ranks first place for stock market timing over the last three decades among those newsletters tracked by Hulbert Financial Digest
- publisher uses movements in the S&P 400 Index, S&P 500 Index, the Russell 2000, and the Dow Jones Industrial Average as basis for his commentary, analysis, and recommendations
- editor Dan Sullivan's investment strategy is that profits are allowed to run, while losses are quickly cut using relative strength for his stock selection process ..... a buy high, sell higher approach, i.e. buying stock that have already made significant gains. This is opposite of conventional lore of buying low and selling high.
- The Chartist is one of the few advisory services that actually buys and stocks that it recommends.
The Dines Letter (every three weeks)
- subtitled "advice and information for traders and investors"
- commentary and analysis cover stock market trends, currencies, precious metals, and stocks.
- provides 7 supervised investment lists of securities, the idea being that one should select those lists appropriate to one's investment goals and risk tolerance.
The Dines Interim Warning Bulletin (weekdays)
- published to give investors more control over their portfolios from market changes that occur between issues of the tri-weekly Dines Letter, given the high degree of stock market price volatility
- as soon as market- or economic-related events are announced that could affect the valuation of one's portfolio, such as a foreign currency crisis, a technical analysis warning, market signals, or important company developments, this service provides short-range investment recommendations and guidance for immediate "buy" and "sell" decisions.
Dividend Digest (monthly) - formerly Dick Davis Dividend Digest)
- provides recommendations of high quality, income-oriented investment opportunities, such as high yielding common and preferred stocks, municipal and corporate bonds, and REITS, targeting individuals who are planning for or are already retired
- includes updates to previous recommendations on regular basis
Investment Digest (monthly) - formerly Dick Davis Investment Digest)
- author (and staff) examine hundreds of investment letters and institutional research publications, with extracts of the most attractive investment recommendations, e.g. undervalued stocks, takeover candidates, and companies with new product breakthroughs
- covers common stocks, mutual funds, exchange traded funds, and both large and small capitalized companies across all industries with the greatest profit potential
- acts as the link between the financial newsletter advisory community and the investing public.
Louis Navellier's Blue Chip Growth (monthly)
- each issue provides an outlook for the stock market, and a discussion of specific purchase recommendations
- interesting industry sector-by-sector overview with purchase suggestions
- includes a good Summary List of buy recommendations, noting price below which one should buy shares of a specific company stock
- three Buy List subgroups: 1. conservative 60% ; 2. moderately aggressive 30% ; 3. aggressive, powerful, volatile stocks 10%
Personal Finance (every two weeks)
- general investment overview and market commentary, plus specific 'buy' recommendations, and articles dealing with various investing opportunities
- offers a growth portfolio (for long term capital appreciation), an income portfolio (for investors who seek a high level of current income while preserving wealth), and a fund portfolio (suitable for investors who seek both capital appreciation and current income)
Prudent Speculator (monthly)
- recommends stocks as "buys" that are currently priced at less than 50% of what their appraised /market value is likely to be looking ahead one year or so
- features "Portfolio Builder" - 10 undervalued stocks to buy today with long term appreciation potential, for 3 portfolio sizes - $25K $100K and $250
Richard E. Band's Profitable Investing (monthly)
- published by an authority on investing with a "low risk" growth "safety first" approach
- provides plenty of investment ideas and strategies
- Total Return Portfolio lists recommended securities by type, with commentary and "buy below" price
MUTUAL FUND LETTERS
Fidelity Monitor (for Fidelity Investors) (monthly)
- content includes independent analysis and recommendations for ALL Fidelity mutual funds
- provides 5 model portfolios made up of Fidelity funds, the composition of each being a function of investment objectives and level of risk
- publisher is NOT associated with Fidelity Investments ..... this newsletter has been published since 1985
Independent Advisor (for Vanguard Investors) (monthly)
- provides 4 model portfolios comprised of Vanguard Funds: growth, conservative growth, income, and growth index model
- the past performance of each model portfolio is noted year by year going back 20 years
- newsletter scoreboard reviews performance of all Vanguard Funds, i.e. price, return, yield, and risk, and it indicates for each fund whether it is a buy, hold, or sell
Noload Fundx (monthly)
- this service, ranked among the very best by Hulbert Financial Digest, has been helping mutual fund investors maximize returns for over 25 years
- provides an east-to-use system for investors to identify and invest in top-performing no-load mutual funds ... mainly stock funds
- covers 4 classes to stock funds and 1 class of bond funds, with variations in the goal of fund, e.g. capital appreciation, as well as level of risk and volatility
- publisher's "upgrading system" is essentially a strategy to hold a fund as long as it continues to outperform its peers (stay in the top third of funds ranked by performance, i.e. what funds to buy and when to sell
OTHER INVESTMENT LETTERS IN LIBRARY COLLECTION
Dow Theory Letters (every three weeks)
- oldest advisory service continually written by one person in the investment business (since 1958)
- covers the U.S. stock market, foreign markets, bonds, precious metals, other commodities, economic conditions, plus Richard Russell's widely followed comments, observations, and stock market philosophy
- commentary is published weekdays shortly after the stock market has closed, with analysis/opinions on any key developments or macro/economic indicators
- to access supplementary information published as 'Richard's Remarks', go to DowTheoryLetters and key in '1854' as both the user name and the password
The McClellan Market Report (every two weeks)
- a market timing newsletter that covers the U.S. stock and bond markets as interpreted by technical analysis tools / indicators, developed by the publisher
- content (six or seven key articles per issue) includes news, trends, signals, market trends, top and bottom (price resistance and support), research and analysis, along with advanced charts and detailed explanation or interpretation
- specific topics for articles may include gold, the dollar, petroleum, bonds, or macroeconomic indicators such as employment
The Hulbert Financial Digest (monthly)
- written and edited by Mark Hulbert, who has been tracking the performance of investment newsletters every month since 1980
- author is not affiliated with any newsletter and does NOT offer investment advice himself
- each issue has an extensive article covering investment strategy under various themes
- Hulbert reviews and provides commentary on select newsletters that are profiled in each issue, comparing performance, portfolio analysis, plus subscription and contact information newsletters
- the back inside cover is a scoreboard for mutual fund newsletters with best performance over a 15, 10 and 5 year time horizon
- the back cover provides a scoreboard showing which newsletters have performed best, on both a total return and a risk-adjusted basis over 20, 10 and 5 years